The Pufendorf Group

In any Western society some 20-30% of the disease burden is mental disease. Yet we do not talk about this, do not acknowledge those who suffer, nor give them equal worth as others who are ill. To fight stigma in mental disease we started the Pufendorf Group-some 30 top scientists and activists in the Nordics.

Stigma against psychiatric diseases and those affected by it, is prevalent in the Nordic countries.

This stigma is manifest in all aspects of human life; the individual sphere, in society, access to health care and treatments, research and drug development, the media, workplace environment and in politics. It seriously diminishes life expectancy and well-being of patients.

The Pufendorf Group was started to take action against the stigma. It acts by advocacy, writing Op-Eds, arrange hearings and advocate deeper respect for those affected, for research around psychiatric disorders, for access to professional support and health care, and for quick rehabilitation.

Members come from all four Nordic countries.

Anne Lindhart – Anne Lindhardt – Psychiatrist and Chair of the Board, Psychiatric Association, Denmark

Thomas Middelboe – Ledende overlæge, ph.d.Formand, Dansk Psykiatrisk Selskab (DPS)

Martin Schalling – Professor of Medical Genetics, Karolinska Institute, Sweden, Ordförande Psykiatrifonden

Timo Partonen – MD, research professor, National Institute for Health and Welfare, Finland

Jan Olav Johannessen
 – Director of research M.D, Ph.D. Professor in Psychiatry University of Stavanger, Faculty of Social Science, Division of Psychiatry, Stavanger University Hospital

Lena Flyckt – Psychiatrist and Chair of the Swedish Psychiatry Association, Karolinska Institute, Sweden

Kristian Wahlbeck – Research Professor, THL, National Institute for Health and Welfare, The Finnish Association for Mental Health, Finland

Sveinung Dybvig – Communications consultant, Psychiatric division, Stavanger University Hospital, Norway

Lone Frank – Science Journalist and Author, Denmark

Maria Borelius – Science Journalist and Author, Sweden

Lars Hansson – Professor, Department of Health Sciences, Lund University, Sweden

Göran Isacsson – Professor, MD, Karolinska Institute, Sweden

Per-Åke Warg – Psykiatrifonden, Sweden

Yvonne Forsell – Professor, Specialist in Psychiatry and Geriatrics, Karolinska Institute, Sweden

Rasmus Johnsen – Assistant Professor, PhD, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark

Lars Hansson – Professor, Department of Health Sciences, Lund University, Sweden

Christopher Gillberg – Professor of Child & Youth Psychiatry, Göteborg University, Sweden

Jeanette Bauer – Associate Professor, Psychiatrist, Copenhagen University Hospital, Denmark

Ida Hageman – Associate Professor, Psychiatrist, Copenhagen University Hospital, Denmark

Jonas Eberhard – Senior Researcher, King’s College, UK

Merete Nordentoft – Professor in Psychiatry, Mental Health Center Copenhagen, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Søren Østergaard Dinesen – MD, PhD-researcher, Unit for Psychiatric Research, Aalborg Psychiatric Hospital, Denmark

Tina Christensen Neve – Patient & Projectworker at Psychiatric Centre, Demark

Elias Eriksson – Professor, Department of Pharmacology, Institute of Physiology and Neuroscience, Sahlgrenska Academy, Sweden

Per G Torell – Head of the Schzofrenia and Psychosis Association, Sweden

Harald Wilhelmsson – Head of the Schzofreniaassociation, Skåne, Sweden